Tuesday, April 27, 2010

The Stormchasers by Jenna Blum

Karena Jorge is one-half of twins. Her brother, Charles, has been missing for some time, with no contact. Then, on the day of their thirty-eighth birthday, Karena gets a phone call from a mental ward in Wichita, Kansas, saying her brother had been there and they needed her help bringing him back in. Charles, who is Bi-Polar, has always loved chasing tornadoes. Karena knows she will have to chase a few storms herself if she wants any hope in finding her lost brother. With the help of a handsome tour guide named Kevin, hope is on the horizon. But is Karena really ready to face her past with Charles?

This book was quite the whirlwind ride. There were tons of fascinating facts and information about tornadoes and storm chasing. Sign me up for a chasing tour! I am also a sucker for twin stories, so bonus points for Jenna Blum there. Except that the more I read, the less I found myself wanting to actually find Charles. There was nothing in his character that appealed to me, ultimately, and would have been just as satisfied to leave him be. I thought it was a very sweet and tender romance between Karena and Kevin. Even though the dialogue was often cheesy and too-perfect, it totally pulled at my heart strings and made me say "awwwww" out loud. I was rooting for them from the very beginning. Readers who like Lori Lansens, Jeannette Walls, and Ann Packer will like this book too.

Overall Rating: 5 Stars

2 comments:

Juju at Tales of Whimsy.com said...

Totally gorgeous enchanting cover. Thanks for the review.

Robert said...

Enjoyed reading it, wanted some more chasing in it though.

If interested... Storm Chase Guide provides lower priced storm chasing tours. In 2010 all of my customers observed multiple tornadoes, I would be thrilled to provide you the same experience.
Storm Chasing Tours - Storm Chase Guide

Post a Comment